Slide background


Save Our Wild Salmon

On March 9th, 80 commercial and recreational fishing associations and conservation organizations called on President Obama to create a high-level Salmon Director position in the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) to restore West Coast salmon populations, protect fishing jobs and rebuild the salmon economy.

The Salmon Director would be responsible for developing, coordinating and executing federal salmon restoration policy in the Pacific salmon states. Fishing and conservation leaders who signed the letter represent the six Pacific salmon states: California, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Nevada and Alaska.

The letter urges the Obama administration to begin work immediately in creating this position to “protect and restore dwindling populations of Pacific salmon and steelhead and the tens of thousands of jobs in our states that depend upon them.” (view the letter below)

Read the Press Release

Download the letter as a PDF

The Signers:



Carl PopeExecutive DirectorSierra ClubSan Francisco, California


Rob MasonisVice President for Western ConservationTrout UnlimitedSeattle, Washington


Liz HamiltonExecutive DirectorNorthwest Sportfishing Industry AssociationOregon City, Oregon


Dale KelleyExecutive DirectorAlaska Trollers AssociationJuneau, Alaska


R.P. Van GytenbeekPresidentFederation of Fly FishersLivingston, Montana


Doug FrickePresidentWashington Trollers AssociationKingston, Washington


Bob ReesPresidentNW Guides and Anglers AssociationTillamook, OR


Rich SimmsPresidentWild Steelhead CoalitionKirkland, Washington


Dustin AherinPresidentCitizens for ProgressLewiston, Idaho


Duncan MacLeanPresidentHalf Moon Bay Fishermen’s MarketingAssociationHalf Moon Bay, California


Larry CollinsPresidentCrab Boat Owners AssociationSan Francisco, California


Mary ScurlockPolicy DirectorPacific Rivers CouncilPortland, Oregon


Alan LevineDirectorCoast Action GroupPoint Arena, California


Jeremiah O'BrienPresidentMorro Bay Commercial Fishermen'sOrganizationMorro Bay, California


Peter DobbinsExecutive DirectorFriends of the Garcia RiverPoint Arena, California


Lori FrenchCoordinatorFaces of California FishingMorro Bay, California


Bert BowlerIndependent AdvocateSnake River Salmon SolutionsBoise, Idaho


Eric WesselmanExecutive DirectorTuolumne River TrustSan Francisco, California


Pete NicholsBaykeeper/Executive DirectorHumboldt BaykeeperEureka, California


Rick JohnsonExecutive DirectorIdaho Conservation LeagueBoise, Idaho


Barbara VlamisExecutive DirectorButte Environmental CouncilChico, California


Aaron Newman, PresidentHumboldt Fishermen's MarketingAssociationEureka, California


Steve PhillipsConservation Committee ChairWashington Wildlife FederationBellevue, Washington


Mike PetersenExecutive DirectorThe Lands CouncilSpokane, Washington


Steve PederyConservation DirectorOregon WildPortland, Oregon


John MerzPresidentSacramento River Preservation TrustChico, California


Dan WolfordScience DirectorCoastside Fishing ClubLos Gatos, California


Thomas O'Keefe, Ph.DPacific Northwest Stewardship DirectorAmerican WhitewaterSeattle, Washington


Brian BeffortAssociate DirectorFriends of Nevada WildernessReno, Nevada


Tom FordExecutive Director and BaykeeperSanta Monica BaykeeperMarina Del Rey, California


Linda SheehanExecutive DirectorCalifornia Coastkeeper AllianceFremont, California


Howard GarrettCo-founderOrca NetworkGreenbank, Washington


Grant SimondsExecutive DirectorIdaho Outfitters and Guides AssociationBoise, Idaho


James WilcoxPresidentOlympia Chapter of Trout UnlimitedOlympia, Washington


Mark TaylorPresidentWashington State Council of TroutUnlimitedBellevue, Washington


Drew IrbyCouncil ChairmanTrout Unlimited of CaliforniaSanta Rosa, California


Sidney BurklundPresidentNorthshore Chapter of Trout UnlimitedBothell, Washington


John DevoeExecutive DirectorWaterWatch of OregonPortland, Oregon




William F. "Zeke"Grader, Jr.

Executive DirectorPacific Coast Federation ofFishermen's Associations (PCFFA)San Francisco, California


Pat FordExecutive DirectorSave Our Wild Salmon CoalitionPortland, Oregon


Sara PattonExecutive DirectorNorthwest Energy CoalitionSeattle, Washington


Bill SedivyExecutive DirectorIdaho Rivers UnitedBoise, Idaho


Patti GoldmanVice President of LitigationEarthjusticeSeattle, Washington


Jim AdamsRegional Executive DirectorNational Wildlife FederationWestern Regional CenterSeattle, Washington


Norman E. RitchieGovernment Affairs DirectorAssociation of Northwest SteelheadersPortland, Oregon


Bill BoyerPresident of the BoardIdaho Steelhead and Salmon UnlimitedBoise, Idaho


Bill JenningsExecutive DirectorCalifornia Sportfishing Protection AllianceStockton, California


Todd SteinerExecutive DirectorSalmon Protection and Watershed NetworkForest Knolls, California


Joe ScottInternational Programs DirectorConservation NorthwestBellingham, Washington


Gary BobkerProgram DirectorThe Bay InstituteSan Francisco, California


Roger MillerPresidentNorthern California Council,Federation of Fly FishersFresno, California


Jon HunterPolicy DirectorEndangered Species CoalitionWashington DC


Rachael OsbornExecutive DirectorCenter for Environmental Law & PolicySpokane, Washington


Allen HarthornExecutive DirectorFriends of Butte CreekChico California


Scott FeierabendActing Executive DirectorCalifornia TroutSan Francisco, California


Erica TerenceRiverkeeperKlamath RiverkeeperSomes Bar, California


Kevin CollinsBoard PresidentLompico Watershed ConservancyFelton, California


Cindy CharlesPresident and Conservation ChairGolden West Women FlyfishersSan Francisco, California


Brent FentyExecutive DirectorOregon Natural Desert AssociationBend, Oregon


Don McEnhillExecutive DirectorRussian RiverkeeperHealdsburg, California


Eric LinxweilerPresidentThe MountaineersSeattle, Washington


Jeff MillerDirectorAlameda Creek AllianceNiles, California


Peter GalvinConservation DirectorCenter for Biological DiversitySan Francisco, California


Scott GreacenExecutive DirectorEPIC - Environmental ProtectionInformation CenterArcata, California


Jason J. RaineyExecutive DirectorSouth Yuba River Citizens League(SYRCL)Nevada City, California


Raelene GoldPresidentFederation of Western Outdoor ClubsLake Forest Park, Washington


Thomas McLaughlinPresident/CEOSeafood Producers CooperativeBellingham, Washington


Robert GaudetPresidentNevada Wildlife FederationReno, Nevada


Richard PoolAdministratorWater4FishConcord, California


Anne MosnessExecutive DirectorGo Wild CampaignBellingham, Washington


Rick CoatesExecutive DirectorForest UnlimitedCazadero, California


Travis WilliamsExecutive Director and RiverkeeperWillamette RiverkeeperPortland, Oregon


Michael KellerCoordinatorFriends of Sheephouse CreekSonoma, California


Brett VandenHeuvelExecutive DirectorColumbia RiverkeeperHood River, Oregon


Sejal ChoksiProgram DirectorSan Francisco BaykeeperSan Francisco, California


Aaron LongtonPresidentPort Orford Ocean Resource TeamPort Orford, Oregon


Scott VeirsPresidentBeam Reach Marine Science andSustainability SchoolSeattle, Washington


Tom WolfChairmanOregon Council Trout UnlimitedHillsboro, Oregon


Lindsey KetchelExecutive DirectorSoutheast Alaskan Conservation CouncilJuneau, Alaska


Gene HarshmanPresident, Tacoma ChapterTrout UnlimitedLakewood, Washington



Share This